IOCD LogoIOCD Logo International Organization
Chemical Sciences in Development

About: Governance and Administration

IOCD is registered as an international NGO in Namur, Belgium and complies with Belgian law regarding its constitution, formal functions and annual reporting on its activities and financing. The Secretariat is currently located at the University of Namur (FUNDP).

General Assembly

As part of its strategic development work, the governing body of IOCD, known as the General Assembly, was reformed during 2011. IOCD General Assembly members serve voluntarily, overseeing the organization and its outreach around the world. Through their numerous global contacts, they stay in touch with the latest programmes and trends in chemical sciences research and development assistance.
The General Assembly is constituted by periodic elections and currently comprises the ‘Board’ of officers of the organization (President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, Executive Director) as well as five additional members and two observers. The Board has executive authority devolved from the General Assembly and can decide on all matters except:
  • approval of budgets and accounts
  • appointment and resignation of directors
  • modification of the articles of association
  • liquidation of the organization
The membership of the General Assembly and Board is currently as follows:


  • Jean-Marie Lehn (France) General Assembly; and Board: President
  • Jean Pierre Décor (France) General Assembly; and Board: Vice-President
  • Philippe Lambin (Belgium) General Assembly; and Board: Treasurer
  • Stephen Matlin (UK) General Assembly; and Board: Secretary
  • Alain Krief (Tunisia/France/Belgium) General Assembly; and Board: Executive Director


  • Berhanu Abegaz (Ethiopia) General Assembly member
  • Henning Hopf (Germany) General Assembly member
  • Goverdhan Mehta (India) General Assembly member
  • Vivian Yam (Hong Kong, China) General Assembly member


  • Carlos Rius (Mexico) General Assembly: observer member
  • Michael Tempesta (USA) General Assembly; observer member

Prof. Jean-Marie Lehn, President
Institut de Science et d’Ingénierie Supramoléculaires
Université de Strasbourg
8 allée Gaspard Monge
BP 70028
F-67083 Strasbourg Cedex
Tel. +33 (0)3-90-24-51-45 (44)
Fax +33 (0)3-90-24-51-40
Research website
Dr. Jean-Pierre Décor, Vice President
Institut des Sciences du Vivant
17, rue Bourgelat
F-69002 Lyon
Tel: +04 72 40 79 66
Fax: +04 72 40 79 67


2010 saw the retirement of IOCD's second Executive Director, Dr Robert Maybury, who had taken over from IOCD's founder, Pierre Crabbé, following the latter's tragic death in 1987. The General Assembly warmly thanked Dr Maybury for his many years of outstanding service to the organization and honoured him with the title Emeritus Executive Director.
Prof Alain Krief, a distinguished Belgian chemist at the University of Namur, was selected and approved by the General Assembly as IOCD's third Executive Director. Prof Stephen Matlin (London), a long-standing member of IOCD, currently serves as Head of the Strategic Development Programme of IOCD.
Dr. Alain Krief,
Executive Director, IOCD
61 rue de Bruxelles
B-5000 Namur, Belgium
Tel: +32 81 724 548 (+ voice mail)

About: Past Officers

Dr. Glenn T. Seaborg, President
(1981-1992) (d. 1999)
Nobel Prize, 1951
Director, US Atomic Energy Commision
Chancellor, University of California at Berkeley
Director, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory
Co-discoverer of the element plutonium and 9 other actinide elements
Dr. Elkan R. Blout, Vice President and Treasurer
(1982-2005) (d. 2006)
National Medal of Science
Dean, Harvard School of Public Health
Treasurer, US National Academy of Sciences
Senior Advisor for Science, US Food and Drug Administration
Top of PageTop of Page